(updated July 14/97) Here's a current list, comprised of all sites that I am aware of that have caused harassment and wasted resources. If you are on this list, and care to either give an explanation, or clarify an error on my part, please send e-mail to: doctor@cyberus.ca ========================================================================== starr@earthstar.com clearlens@aol.com jjackso9@rocky.orci.com John.Jackson@orci.com ReplyBy@MailPhoneFax.com <-- FALSIFIED HEADER PhneCards@aol.com <-- ACTUAL CONTACT This person ("Mr. Tim Luedtke") put together a list of thousands of email addresses, and sells them for $90US for spammers. As of this date, I have sent him several messages asking him for a reply, and a list of his sources....nothing in response as of yet. ???@INTERRAMP.NET ???@INTERRAMP.COM NOTE: Both of these addresses are now maintained by: PSI.COM If you have a complaint, please email: net-abuse@psi.com PSI told me back in September that the INTERRAMP domain would be closed in October, with all of their customers moved over to the PSI.COM and PSI.NET domains. Apparently PSI has an email spam-prevention process. Well, as of to date, I am STILL receiving junk email from INTERRAMP, and usually with the falsified headers. Why is this still happening? PSI, can you tell me? ???@cyberpromo.com ???@spambot.com ???@spamman.com Sanford Wallace's infamous CYBERPROMO site. They are notorious for wasting bandwidth. I have received COUNTLESS junk e-mail from their site and their clients. ALL headers are very well frauded to hide the original sender. They are proud to waste bandwidth, and claim to have millions of email addresses to send junk email to. After telling them SEVERAL times to get me off their receiver lists, I am still getting junk. I got no response from them, and they claim (on their webpage) to have individual receiver lists with each of their clients, and just because I'm off 'their' list, doesn't mean that I'm off the client's list. Incidentally, they also claim not to distribute their list to their clients. No, they just give their clients the ability to make their own list, of which you can get included almost daily. I await the day that this company is banned from the internet....though it will probably never happen. About 30-40% of my JEM comes from CyberPromo. If you can killfile a site, you'll want to killfile this one. In fact, I'd recommend killfiling their whole subnet, if you can. ???@earthlink.net Earthlink is TERRIBLE for sending junk e-mail. They have an abuse address (abuse@earthlink.net), though it goes unanswered. I'd say close to 30-40% of my JEM comes from this site. If you can killfile a site, you'll want to killfile this one, for sure. ???@hotmail.com I've got porn JEM from them, among other things. I wonder if they check to see if they're sending to a minor? I doubt it. This is another site that should definately head for the killfile. ???@worldnet.att.net AT&T, give me a break. Enough of the JEM, already! Numerous fraudulated headers from this site. Luckily, they don't know what they're doing, and the headers are easy to trace. Another one for the killfile. ???@sympatico.ca Recently, Bell Canada and all its subsidiaries started selling net access through their domain "sympatico.ca". It's unfortunate that this is so, because I have friends using this ISP, so I can't killfile all of it. YOU may want to add it to your killfile, though. I've got at least 10-12 of them in the last month or so (JEM). ???@compuserve.com Yes...COMPUSERVE has finally made it on my list. Until the last couple weeks, I hadn't got any JEM from them. I assumed they had some kind of filter on their SNMP/SMTP daemons, like AOL does, but I GUESS NOT!! They don't check for bulk-email, and have started heavy spamming recently. Since I know noone at compuserve, they're as good as killfiled. New additions to the list (July 14/97): IEMMC.ORG -- This company somehow got hold of my email address at work. They include a way to "opt out" from their mailing lists by going to their webpage. Silly me to think that I'd actually be taken OFF of their list. NO, after I tried to have my 'home' account removed (as well as my work account), they started sending JEM to my home ISP, as well. So if you see anything from this site, DON'T give them any other addresses; they'll only ADD THEM to their receiver lists!! Don't be fooled. A terrible spam site, that is WELL deserving of everyone's killfile. ============================================================================= If you have something you'd like to see added to this list, feel free to send me the info. I'll add it... -BOFH :)